Buckwheat Blueberry Scones, Dulse Crackers

Buckwheat Blueberry Scones

Buckwheat Blueberry Scones

These Buckwheat Blueberry Scones are from Brigitte Mars’s Rawsome recipe book (2004) under her more imaginative title of Berry Good Scones. I made half of her recipe (a habit of mine when I try something I wouldn’t normally make). This made around a dozen scones, and I certainly need to work on the shaping of these! They were supposed to be ’rounded triangles’ but I got something, er, quite other.

I sprouted a cup of buckwheat  for three days, used one banana, and something like 1/3 cup of soaked dates, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp cardamon, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 cup fresh wild organic blueberries.

Leaving out the blueberries, I pureed the rest, mixed in the berries and put the mixture in spoonfulls onto dehydrator sheets for 4 hours, turning them over half way through.

These are delicious – and my husband, even wilder for buckwheat than I, ploughed into them with enthusiasm!

Dulse Crackers

Dulse Crackers

Now these Dulse Crackers are a different proposition altogether! Savoury and salt, thin and tempting, they are a good accompaniment to the kinds of snacks we like to indulge in before our evening meal and sometimes instead of a ‘regular’ evening meal.

This is one of Kate Woods’s recipes, from her Eat Smart Eat Raw book. I need 1/4 pound of oat groats, which I had to then soak overnight. I put these in the blender the next morning with 1 oz dulse (which is the lovely red seaweed which tastes like heaven. This doesn’t sound like a lot of dulse, but think: my packages of dulse come in 2-oz lots, which means half a pack, which is more than I usually use at once. Anyway, onward. 1 small onion, chopped, and 1 Tbsp miso. For this I used the red miso, but I think just about any kind you particularly like would work for you. A cup of water added to the lot in the blender and you’re off and running.

I spread this onto the dehydrator sheets in around 5 inch rounds, very thin, and dehydrated 6 hours, turned ’em, and left them there for another 6. After complete cooling, I broke the rounds into 3 or 4 pieces each and stored the arty looking shards in an airtight container. They didn’t last long!

And now on to more experiments with the dehydrator!

Leave a Reply

